Lower Case: Incriminating Evidence Red

I spent the early part of the day shellacking the lower case letters from the Winchell font, and I was trying to learn from my mistakes yesterday with the capital letters:  don’t sand the face of the letterforms even if they have imperfections because it ruins the serifs, put on a third coat of shellac so the letters resist the ink better, and spend more time in make-ready using the right materials.  I followed these new rules, and voila:  clean, sharp prints.

I had a little trouble early on with some of the letters not inking correctly (see pictures), but after raising them a small amount, the rollers were coating them evenly.  I also used softer packing on the tympan tonight so that the letters would emboss deeper into the page – and also, as I suspected, the deeper embossing meant the paper was able to pick up some of the weaker serifs.

I chose a strange color we have at WNYBAC called “Incriminating Evidence Red” from an old Buffalo ink company. Don’t let the name fool you, it’s not really red at all – it’s fluorescent orange.  It’s difficult to tell from the pics, but the color is unimaginably bright and really pops on the grey tone page.  I used the same Canal paper that I used for the capital letters, and even spent a little time tonight overlapping caps and lower case letters.  Eventually, I’m going to do a three-color overlapped specimen sheet:  Capitals, lower case, and numbers and punctuation.

Tonight went far smoother and the results were much better.  I plan on revisiting the capital letters now, possibly giving them another couple coats of shellac, and when I print them again, spending more time with make-ready.  Check out the gallery for more detailed pics.

Published in: on December 16, 2009 at 5:32 PM  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://typeproject.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/lower-case-incriminating-evidence-red/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is a great adventure you’re on! Very cool. I was at the Hamilton Wayzgoose too – an amazing stew of printers, designers and typographers/type designers, no?

    If perhaps you would ever want to swap a print of your type for one of a chromatic that I have done (see the photo on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/47506789@N00/4101561004/) I would go for that.

  2. absolutely celene – i met so many people at Hamilton, had a great time and got a lot of advice. I’ll definitely consider a print swap – let me get back to you after I finish the numbers and punctuation in the Winchell font (probably between the holidays. Best, Chris

  3. Sounds perfect. And the best way to spend the holidays: At the press! Cheers, Celene

  4. Hi, I have just discovered your blog and have read every entry. I am fascinated by this process – all your trials and experiments to make new wood type – I’m impressed and more than a little jealous!

    I am relatively new to woodtype/letterpress and have much more metal than wood type, although I keep looking out for bargains and odd interesting pieces.

    Keep posting the results – I’ll be checking in regularly! Great blog, great work!

    Christopher, UK

  5. Thanks Chris, I really appreciate the comments. We’ve been using the wood type here at WNYBAC for a number of projects, and it’s holding up nicely, printing even better as it gets broken in. Unfortunately we’ve put producing new wood type fonts on hiatus, but as we assemble more work with this typeface and consider making new ones, that information will be posted! Check back!


Leave a Reply

